Prof. Dr. Kayvan Bozorgmehr (MD, MSc)

Task-force member
Portrait of Kayvan Bozorgmehr
Send email to:

Prof. Bozorgmehr is a medical doctor with expertise in social epidemiology and health services research. He is a full professor in public health and director of the Department of Population Medicine and Health Services Research at Bielefeld University, and head of the Section of Health Equity Studies and Migration at Heidelberg University Hospital. He graduated in medicine at Frankfurt University, obtained his medical doctorate (Dr. med.) from the Institute for Social Medicine, Epidemiology and Health Economics, Charité University Medicine Berlin, and completed a postgraduate Master of Science in Public Health at Umeå University in Sweden. He then completed his lecturer qualification (Habilitation/Venia Legendi) in “Health Services Research and Social Epidemiology” at the Medical Faculty of Heidelberg University. His scientific interests are in the area of structural, social and economic determinants of health and health system organization, with a particular focus on equity aspects, migration and transnational interdependencies. Kayvan Bozorgmehr leads several large‐scale research projects on health and health care for asylum seekers and refugees and has published extensively on this topic. He is an internationally acknowledged expert in the field of refugee health and has worked as a consultant to the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for Europe. He is a member of the Steering Committee of the German Alliance for Global Health Research and has been invited member of the “Working Group on Migration and Public Health” at the German Federal Chancellor’s Office in Berlin (Bundeskanzleramt). He is further a member of “Health Systems Global” and the German Society for Epidemiology (DGEpi), and a reviewer for leading international journals. He has received the Stephan‐Weiland Prize of the German Society for Epidemiology (2015) and the Ferenc‐Boyan Young Investigator Award of the European Public Health Association (2016).